I used to have that, but the workaround for that was, whenever I create a picture I like, I work on that picture once and that saved it.
Never had photos/ videos like that deleted, only ever if I never worked on it.
And don't think it is ill-intended or them catching you, but probably just a server f up/ lagging ui and it not really registering or whatever during that time.